Home   Dover   News   Article

K College campuses in Dover and Folkestone gets newly appointed principal in run up to merge

By Victoria Chessum

Dover and Folkestone K College campuses have had a new principal appointed, it can be revealed.

Graham Razey has been confirmed as the principal designate with immediate effect.

Managing the final stages of the college’s transition to become part of East Kent College (EKC) in August is Steve Hutchinson, as the K College chief accounting officer.

K College
K College

The interim principal, Phil Frier steps down.

In February it was announced that the college was going to be split in half, with the Dover and Folkestone campuses becoming part of EKC from August this year.

Tonbridge, Tunbridge Wells and Ashford campuses will be managed by Hadlow college from the same date.

Paul Hannan has been assigned as the principal designate for the west Kent and Ashford campuses.

Malcom Bell, who took over as chairman of gin March, said: “The K College Board is extremely pleased with the progress that has been made in recent months to assure the future further education of students across all five of our campuses.

“The governors are delighted that we have been able to appoint two highly regarded colleges and their principals to lead the next stages of the development across Kent.

“Steve Hutchinson has a broad experience in managing colleges in transition over the last ten years, and we are pleased that he has accepted this interim post to ensure the success of the financially sustainable solution for K College.”

Phil Frier said: ‘I joined K College in January 2013 to stabilise the college and lead us through to this point where we can deliver higher and further education for the long term.

“I stand down now to give Graham and Paul the authority they need to take the campuses into the final stages of the transition.

“I would like to everyone for their hard work and commitment to students through what has been a very tough time, and for the support and trust that they gave me.” - Phil Frier

A statement released by the college reads: “The college governors are now looking forward to working closely with the Hadlow and East Kent Corporations and their management teams to improve the quality of teaching and learning for current and future students, and re-establishing the long term financial sustainability of the three new colleges in East Kent, Ashford and West Kent.

“New chair of governors Malcolm Bell was principal of north west Kent college until his retirement. Other new governors include Dr Susan Priest, economic regeneration director, Shepway District Council, Gary Lester, a property services professional and students, Pratthana Seekaew and Amy Laraman.”

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More