Home   Maidstone   News   Article

Kent missed out on chance to host Rugby World Cup teams in 2015 after bids from Medway Council and Medway Rugby Club was unsuccessful

By Ed McConnell

Those who felt disconnected from this year’s Brazil-based football world cup will not have to wait long for international sporting action to move closer to home.

However, fans in Kent of next year's Rugby World Cup will be disappointed to hear they have been snubbed by the sport’s showpiece event after the 41 team bases were announced.

The tournament, which kicks off next September, will see 20 teams from across the globe compete over six weeks for the William Webb Ellis trophy.

Medway Rugby Club in action

Medway Council confirmed it had applied in partnership with Medway Rugby Club to be a training facility for the tournament and was informed last year that the bid was not successful.

A spokesman added: “There are a range of exciting sporting activities taking place in Medway over the coming months however, including the Wheelchair Rugby League Four Nations, which we hope will create a buzz around sport in the area.”

Almost 100 bids were received from clubs, schools and universities across England and Wales, but despite several venues in the county being located close to tournament stadiums none was selected.

Kent County Council confirmed that they did not put any venues forward and were not aware of any who had applied separately.

Kent won't play a part as a training venue in the world cup, it's been revealed
World cup winners Jason Robinson, Will Greenwood, Lewis Moody, Kyran Bracken and Austin Healey were among the last from England's men's team to taste success in 2003
Kent won't host teams during the Rugby World Cup next year

Each team will be welcomed by their host venues with people in the area encouraged to support them during the event.

Big names France and South Africa will be the closest teams to Kent, based at The Trinity School in Croydon, and at Eastbourne College and University of Brighton respectively.

Defending champions New Zealand will be based in Darlington.

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More