Home   News   Charities   Article

Teacher awards reveal celebrity supporters

By Liz Nicholls

Big names from the worlds of sport, entertainment, and books are backing the Kent Teacher of the Year Awards 2018.

Steven Holdcroft, Assistant Director of Enrolment Management Services at the University of Kent, joins staff to unveil the Kent Teacher of the Year Awards celebrity flyer that will be used to promote the 2018 event.

Celebrities keen to trumpet the county’s top educators include humanitarian author Terry Waite, award-winning children’s author Nick Butterworth, former England Women’s Rugby Union captain Catherine Spencer, and television and radio presenter Nicki Chapman - best known for her stints on Popstars and Pop Idol.

The awards, organised each year by the KM Group's charity department, are open for nominations at www.kentteacheroftheyear.co.uk until March 1.

Categories cover all subjects for primary and secondary school teachers in addition to newly qualified teachers, non-teaching staff, volunteers, and teams.

Anyone can place a nomination including members of school staff, parents, and pupils.

A big reveal announcing the awards’ celebrity supporters for this year’s event was staged at the University of Kent.

Steven Holdcroft, assistant director of the university’s Enrolment Management Services department, said: “We’ve got some fantastic celebrity endorsement this year from people across the county.”

He added: “These awards make an important contribution to raising the profile of teachers and support staff and recognise the inspirational work they do.”

Simon Dolby, chief executive of the event’s organisers the KM Charity Team, said: “We are very grateful to our famous supporters for helping us to raise awareness of the awards.

“They share our belief in the importance of not only good teaching, but also a strong support network of talented individuals and teams working behind the scenes.”

He added: “I hope this will encourage more people to submit nominations and shine a light on the extraordinary yet humble individuals who make such a big difference to their schools.”

Winners will be invited to a prestigious awards ceremony at the Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel in May.

Judging the entries will be representatives from Kent County Council, Medway Council, Kent Sport, Canterbury Christ Church University, the University of Greenwich, Three R’s Teacher Recruitment, Medway Youth Trust, Social Enterprise Kent, Beanstalk, CXK, Salus, LoopCR, the University of Kent, and Diggerland.

Follow stories about Kent Teacher of the Year on Twitter @KMCharityTeam and #KMTOTY

Join the debate...
Comments |

Don't have an account? Please Register first!

The KM Group does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments
We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules. If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here, email multimediadesk@thekmgroup.co.uk or call 01634 227989.

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More