Home   Sheerness   News   Article

Paul Trigwell Island Run winners revealed following popular fundraiser in memory of former Sheppey head teacher

By Emma Grove

The winners of the Paul Trigwell Island Run have been revealed.

Last week we reported how record numbers of more than 700 joined in with the fundraiser on Sunday, May 11.

Many donned cartoon-themed fancy dress costumes to run or walk either the 10-mile course from Leysdown or the two-mile one from Minster Leas.

Runners finishing the Paul Trigwell Island Run
Runners finishing the Paul Trigwell Island Run

Thousands were there to cheer them over the finish line in Beachfields Park, Sheerness.

In the two-mile race, the under-nine winners were William Fitzpatrick, eight, and Katie Stringer, eight; Luke Stringer, 11, and Ellie Waller, 11, were the triumphant under-13s; Ben Jamieson, 15, and Darcy Oliver, 15, won the under-19 category; 20-year-old Tony O’Connell was the senior male champion and Katie Fitzpatrick, 34, the senior female; 52-year-old Mark Butler was crowned veteran male and 41-year-old Julie Hatt veteran female.

Luke and Ellie took the overall winner titles.

In the 10-mile run, Tom Ayres, 11, was under-13 winner; James Sieloff, 17, and Ella Thomas, 14, took the under-19 title; senior male was Anthony Jackson, 28, and Jennifer Coleman, 24, senior female; 52-year-old Graeme Saker won veteran male and Gill Holmes, 37, was veteran female.

Anthony and Jennifer were the overall winners.

The team from the Halfway Houses pub were first over the line in the 10-mile relay.

A presentation evening will take place at the Oasis Academy Isle of Sheppey’s west site in Sheerness on Friday, June 20, from 7pm.

All participants will be given medals and there is an array of trophies, cups and a community shield to be given out to winners.

Money is being counted, but it is hoped this year’s event will have reached £10,000 which will boost the total raised by the Paul Trigwell Memorial Fund to £100,000.

It was set up to support Sheppey children after the death of the head of St George’s Middle School in 2006.

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More