Home   Canterbury   Sport   Article

Cricket World Cup: Kent's Joe Denly left out of England squad

Kent's Joe Denly has been left out of England's final 15-man World Cup squad.

He drops out of the provisional group to be replaced by Liam Dawson in light of the Hampshire man's impressive performances at county level so far this season.

The decision comes as another cruel blow to Denly after being dropped in the run-up to the 2010 ICC World Twenty20.

Joe Denly. Picture: Andy Jones
Joe Denly. Picture: Andy Jones

The 33-year-old was afforded a limited window in which to showcase his worth during the recent 4-0 series win over Pakistan, bowling just six overs without a wicket and scoring 17 on his sole batting outing, as well as being left out of Sunday's final one-day international.

He also managed just eight and 1-24 from five overs in his first ODI appearance in 10 years as England beat Ireland in Malahide earlier this month.

It arrives on the back of an outstanding 2018 with Kent that saw him named the Professional Cricketers’ Association MVP, the Natwest Players' Player of the Year, the Royal London One-Day Cup MVP and the Vitality Blast MVP.

Denly had been considered as valuable versatility given his ability to serve as a back-up spinner and plug multiple batting slots across the order.

Nonetheless, doubts were cast over his place in the side amid the emergence of fast bowler Jofra Archer, whose standout displays against Pakistan always threatened a reshuffle.

Archer is included in the team after qualifying to play for England in March, while Tom Curran also makes the cut ahead of David Willey.

Denly's omission could prove good news for Kent ahead of their six County Championship matches between now and the start of the Ashes series.

The upcoming months await as an opportunity for him to stake his claim for a return to the England set-up having scored his maiden test half-century with 69 in the third test of the tour of the West Indies back in February.

Full England squad: Eoin Morgan (capt, Middlesex), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jofra Archer (Sussex), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire, wk), Tom Curran (Surrey), Liam Dawson (Hampshire), Liam Plunkett (Surrey), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Ben Stokes (Durham), James Vince (Hampshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Mark Wood (Durham).

Read more: All the latest Kent sport news

More by this author

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More