Home   Canterbury   Sport   Article

Kent Cricket bowler David Griffiths set to leave the club after three years

By Alex Hoad

David Griffiths will not be offered a new deal after an injury-blighted three-year stint at the club.

The 31-year-old former Hampshire fast bowler has impressed in bursts for Kent but has found four-day chances limited and his white-ball opportunities hampered by injury.

David Griffiths Pic Chris Davey
David Griffiths Pic Chris Davey

The 31-year-old collected eye-catching figures of 4-22 against Middlesex in the NatWest T20 Blast, 3-49 against New Zealand A in a 50-over match.

His best red-ball figures came on his last appearance in the County Championship Division 2, claiming 6-63 in the final game of the 2014 season against Gloucestershire at Canterbury.

Griffiths said: “The time has come for me to now leave Kent to seek a new opportunity. I have had a fantastic time over the last three years here at the club and would like to thank all the fans, coaches and players for their support.

“Kent has a fantastic team with some great characters and I wish them all the best for next season and I hope our paths cross again in the future.”

Kent Cricket Academy graduate Sam Weller has also left the club.

The 21-year-old has made six First Class appearances for Oxford MCCU but did not play for Kent in his two years as a professional at the club.

A spokesman said: “Everyone at Kent Cricket thanks David and Sam for their service and wishes them all the best for the future.”

Meanwhile, Sam Northeast and Suzie Bates were named Kent’s male and female Player of the Year at the Spitfire Kent Cricket Awards on Saturday night.

Both players also won the batting prize after topping the run-scoring charts this summer. Kent captain Northeast hit more than 2,000 runs in all formats for the second straight year while New Zealand skipper Bates starred with bat and ball as Kent’s Women won the double.

Matt Coles and Megan Belt each took home the Bowler of the Year prize for the second year in a row as top wicket-takers in all formats.

Alex Blake repeated the feat of 2015 by being awarded the men’s Fielder of the Year and Lydia Greenway picked up the women’s prize.

Daniel Bell-Drummond was the Iconic by FItzgerald One-Day Player of the Year after a number of match-winning performances.

Follow us

Like Us on Facebook

Most popular

Kent Travel News

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More