Home   Folkestone   News   Article

Labour Party takes control of Folkestone Town Council

ByMolly Mileham-Chappell

The Labour Party has taken control of Folkestone Town Council, after gaining nine seats in the local elections.

The news comes after the party gained six seats in the district council elections, held on the same day on Thursday.

The district results were announced overnight on Thursday into Friday morning, while the count for the town and parish elections were held on Saturday at the Three Hills Sports Park.

Labour Party take control of Folkestone Town Council (9806605)
Labour Party take control of Folkestone Town Council (9806605)

Jackie Meade was re-elected for the East Folkestone ward, alongside newly elected Michelle Dorrell and Connor McConville.

Meanwhile, other Labour councillors elected were Jonathan Graham for the Cheriton East ward, Paul Bingham for the Cheriton West ward, Abena Akuffo-Kelly, David Horton and Belinda Walker for the Central ward, and Ray Field and Nicola Keen for the Harbour ward.

The town council is now made up of 10 Labour, six Conservative, one Liberal Democrat and one Foundation party member.

Conservatives elected to the town council were Ann Berry, Richard Wallace, Dan Brook, Peter Gane, Roger West and Dylan Jeffrey.

Mary Lawes, who lost her district seat, was elected onto the town council as a Foundation Party candidate, while Tim Prater was also elected as a Liberal Democrat representative.

Sixteen councillors were also elected for Hythe Town Council. In Hythe East Town ward, Tamsin Cullen (Con), Jennifer Hawkins (Grn), David Owen (Con) and Tim Prater (Lib Dem) were elected.

In Hythe North Town ward, Malcolm Dearden (Con), Penny Graham (Grn), Sandy McConnell (Grn) and Douglas Wade (Grn) were elected.

In Hythe South Town ward, Angela Dickinson (Hythe Residents' Alliance - HRA), Jim Martin (Grn), Naomi Slade (HRA) and Martin Whybrow (Grn) were elected.

In Hythe West Town ward, Lorna Fraser (Con), Keith Miles (Con), Paul O'Connor (Con) and Harry Williams were elected.

Sixteen councillors were also elected for New Romney Town Council. In New Romney Coast Town ward, there were eight councillors elected - Peter Coe, Mike Hardy, Jane Hiscock, Pip Metcalfe, Wendy Nevard, John Picco, Paul Thomas and Russell Tillson.

In the New Romney Town ward, another eight councillor were elected - John Cramp, Briony Lonbay Kapoor, Sheila McLachlan, Jeff Phipps, John Rivers, Tony Rodriguez, Patricia Rolfe and David Wimble.

Lydd Town Council had an uncontested result, meaning all those who stood were elected. It is made up of 13 independents and one Independent English Brexiteer.

The full results for Hawkinge Town Council were nine Conservative and four Independent.

In Fernfield ward, Conservatives Stuart Peall, David Monk, Philip Martin and David Godfrey were elected.

In Churchill ward, Conservatives Peter Roy and Glyn Hibbert, and Independents Andy Csiszar, Chris Johnson, Richard Moffatt and Leslie Palliser were elected.

Hawkinge Uphill ward was uncontested, so Conservatives John Heasman, Dick Pascoe and Grahame Ward were elected unopposed.

For more elections coverage, click here.

Head to our politics page for expert analysis and all the latest news from your politicians and councils.

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More