Home   Folkestone   Sport   Article

Coleman retains road race title

MICHAEL COLEMAN led a clean sweep of the podium positions for Medway and Maidstone AC at the annual Cliff Temple Memorial Folkestone 10-mile road race on Good Friday. Coleman, the defending champion, set a brisk pace from the start and had already broken clear as the leaders left the refurbished promenade on their journey to Hythe and back. Former winner, Barry Royden, never gave up the chase and Anthony Webb enjoyed another fine outing in his new club vest.

John Creane was a lonely fourth throughout, difficult to recognise in his covert colours, while the familiar figure of Gareth Williams completed the winning Medway and Maidstone team in fifth place.

In a great display of strength in depth a second Medway and Maidstone team, which included Jim McNeill (eighth), Lee McMeekin (10th) and Russ Bridges (21st) could also have won the team a prize. Kevin Williams (Ashford) was the top veteran in 11th place and Lester Pigot (Sevenoaks) won a close race for the M50 prize from five times winner of this award, Martyn Rouse (Invicta).

Rouse was the 28th and final runner to break 60 minutes on a course that boasts a record of 48min 45sec by Mike Gratton.

Alyson Parlett (Bexley) was a minute clear of Sally Dawson (Herne Hill) in the women's race with local resident, Philipa Jackson (Keswick) finishing third.

Sharon Hawkins (Maidstone Harriers) improved one place from last year to fourth as Sarah Philpott (Deal Striders) and Berni Jameson (Medway & Maidstone) completed the top six.

Results: 1 Mike Coleman (Medway & Maidstone) 51.14, 2 Barry Royden (Medway & Maidstone) 52.21, 3 Anthony Webb (Medway & Maidstone) 52.59, 4 John Creane (South Kent) 53.29, 6 Gareth Wiliams (Medway & Maidstone) 55.04, 6 Russell Maddams (Harlow) 55.06, 7 Roy Palmer (Canterbury H) 55.28, 8 Jim McNeill (Medway & Maidstone) 55.30, 9 Steve Game (Dartford H) 55.35, 10 Lee McMeekin (Medway & Maidstone) 55.39, 11 Kevin Williams (Ashford M40) 56.22, 12 Theo Bately (Deal Tri M40) 56.39, 13 Ray Pearce (Istead & Ifield M40) 56.41, 14 Jamie Larkin (Hasings) 56.50, 15 David Chapman-Jones (Deal Tri) 57.28, 16 Allan Jones (Unattached) 57.45, 17 Tatsuo Yoshiwara (Invicta) 58.16, 18 Mick Ellsmore (Cambridge H M40) 58.18, 19 Terry Knightley (Ilfird) M40) 58.39, 20 Steve Kelly (Ashford) 58.49.

Women: 1 Alyson Parlett (Bexley) 64.38, 2 Sally Dawson (Herne Hill W40) 65.36, 3 Phillipa Jackson (Keswick) 65.40, 4 Sharon Hawkins (Maidstone H W35) 65.59, 5 Sarah Philpott (Deal Striders) 67.28, 6 Berni Jameson (Medway & Maidstone) 68.54, 7 Carol Reid (Canterbury H) 71.51, 8 Debbie Pearce (Istead & Ifield W40) 72.27, 9 Louise Markwick (Gravesend) 76.40, 10 Kerryn Hiscock (Dartford H) 77.29.

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More