Home   Kent   News   Article

Kent's new crime commissioner is Conservative Matthew Scott

Kent's new police and crime commissioner has vowed not to take his full salary.

The Tory candidate beat close competition from Ukip's Henry Bolton to take the £85,000-a-year role on Friday.

But he has said he will not take all his pay - instead opting for a lower £75,000 salary.

Matthew Scott, Kent's police and crime commissioner
Matthew Scott, Kent's police and crime commissioner

Mr Scott, from Swanley, said he was delighted and honoured to have been elected and vowed that he would make more visible policing a priority.

"My priorities are to increase police presence in the street to make sure people are ablethey are able to report crime quicker and and feel safer.

"I also want to make sure people see their crime commissioner, so I will be setting up a programme of street stalls and surgeries so I am available to the public."

On the financial pressures facing the force, he rejected the suggestion that it would be more difficult to increase the number of police in towns and villages.

"We do have an element of protection with the police budgets and they are not going to be cut in the same way as before.

"But we need to do more with what we have got, we need to make sure we use resources effectively. That includes increasing the use of technology so that we can cut the amount of time police spend at their desks when they could be out on the streets."

He also vowed to tackle the issue of police having to deal with mentally ill people. 

"A quarter of police time is spent on mental health. We need to free them up so they [officers] can get out on to the streets."

He said he would oppose privatisation of elements of the force as had his predecessor Ann Barnes.

Paul's blog: The five things the result of the crime commissioner election has told us

On Friday, several hours into the count, it became apparent the race to become the next commissioner was a two-horse fight.

Scroll down for results from each area

The first round of counting revealed Ukip had achieved 73,299 votes, and Tories got 88,398 - both comfortably ahead of the other four candidates.

Mr Scott won Dover, Ashford, Canterbury, Maidstone, Dartford, Gravesham, Sevenoaks, Tunbridge Wells, Tonbridge and Malling with Mr Bolton winning in the Medway, Swale, Thanet and Shepway districts.

Because there was no clear winner on the first round of votes, the ballot moved to a second round with second preference votes for the top two candidates allocated to determine the outcome.

Mr Scott was then announced the overall winner.

Henry Bolton, Ukip candidate Kent crime commissioner election candidate 2016
Henry Bolton, Ukip candidate Kent crime commissioner election candidate 2016

The voter turnout for Kent was 21.5% compared to 16.3% in the last PCC election in 2012.

The highest turnout was in Maidstone - where local elections were also taking place - with 32.1%. It was lowest in Thanet, with 17.6%.

The final tally of votes for each candidate was as follows:

Matthew Scott (Con): 104,558

Henry Bolton (UKIP): 87,978

Tris Osborne (Lab): 50,978

David Naghi (Lib Dem): 19,601

Gurvinder Sandher: (Ind): 26,221

Steve Uncles (English Democrats): 8,311

Mr Scott takes over from Ann Barnes, who decided not to stand for re-election.

He is now in charge of the force budget and are required to set the police council tax and have the power to appoint and dismiss the Chief Constable.

As commissioner, he must secure an effective and essential police force, hold the Chief Constable to account and set out an annual police plan.

Day-to-day operational responsibilities for policing rest with the Chief Constable.

First round results

Henry Bolton (Ukip) 5,113
David Naghi (Liberal Democrat) 978
Tristan Osborne (Labour) 2,890
Gurvinder Singh (Independent) 1,850 
Matthew Scott (Conservative) 6,175 
Steve Uncles (Eng Democrats) 620
Turnout 20.0%

Henry Bolton (Ukip) 5,059 
David Naghi (Liberal Democrat) 1,644
Tristan Osborne (Labour) 4,421
Gurvinder Singh (Independent) 2,410
Matthew Scott (Conservative) 6,296
Steve Uncles (Eng Democrats) 626 
Turnout 19.4%

Henry Bolton (Ukip) 3,906 
David Naghi (Liberal Democrat) 429
Tristan Osborne (Labour) 3,525 
Gurvinder Singh (Independent) 1,391
Matthew Scott (Conservative) 4,077
Steve Uncles (Eng Democrats) 484
Turnout 18.9%

Henry Bolton (Ukip) 5,032 
David Naghi (Liberal Democrat) 813 
Tristan Osborne (Labour) 4,717
Gurvinder Singh (Independent) 1,414 
Matthew Scott (Conservative) 5,773 
Steve Uncles (Eng Democrats) 606 
Turnout 22.2%

Henry Bolton (Ukip) 3,140 
David Naghi (Liberal Democrat) 464 
Tristan Osborne (Labour) 3,170 
Gurvinder Singh (Independent) 2,765
Matthew Scott (Conservative) 3,788
Steve Uncles (Eng Democrats) 466
Turnout 19.0%

Henry Bolton (Ukip) 9,079 
David Naghi (Liberal Democrat) 6,228 
Tristan Osborne (Labour) 4,753
Gurvinder Singh (Independent) 2,955 
Matthew Scott (Conservative) 11,309
Steve Uncles (Eng Democrats) 997 
Turnout 32.1%

Henry Bolton (Ukip) 10,289
David Naghi (Liberal Democrat) 1,335
Tristan Osborne (Labour) 8,419 
Gurvinder Singh (Independent) 3,203 
Matthew Scott (Conservative) 9,968
Steve Uncles (Eng Democrats) 1,200
Turnout 18.3%

Henry Bolton (Ukip) 4,530 
David Naghi (Liberal Democrat) 1,125 
Tristan Osborne (Labour) 2,468 
Gurvinder Singh (Independent) 1,463
Matthew Scott (Conservative) 7,067 
Steve Uncles (Eng Democrats) 407
Turnout 20.1%

Henry Bolton (Ukip) 6,641 
David Naghi (Liberal Democrat) 926
Tristan Osborne (Labour) 2,576
Gurvinder Singh (Independent) 1,696
Matthew Scott (Conservative) 5,038
Steve Uncles (Eng Democrats) 619
Turnout 22.5%

Henry Bolton (Ukip) 6,194 
David Naghi (Liberal Democrat) 838 
Tristan Osborne (Labour) 3,672 
Gurvinder Singh (Independent) 1,486
Matthew Scott (Conservative) 5,172 
Steve Uncles (Eng Democrats) 624 
Turnout 18.3%

Henry Bolton (Ukip) 5,555 
David Naghi (Liberal Democrat) 750
Tristan Osborne (Labour) 3,641
Gurvinder Singh (Independent) 1,341
Matthew Scott (Conservative) 4,950
Steve Uncles (Eng Democrats) 617 
Turnout 17.6%

Tonbridge and Malling
Henry Bolton (Ukip) 4,239 
David Naghi (Liberal Democrat) 1,234 
Tristan Osborne (Labour) 2,817 
Gurvinder Singh (Independent) 1,803 
Matthew Scott (Conservative) 8,214
Steve Uncles (Eng Democrats) 449
Turnout 20.9%

Tunbridge Wells
Henry Bolton (Ukip) 4,522 
David Naghi (Liberal Democrat) 2,837
Tristan Osborne (Labour) 3,909
Gurvinder Singh (Independent) 2,444

Matthew Scott (Conservative) 10,569
Steve Uncles (Eng Democrats) 596 
Turnout 32.2%

Second preference results

Henry Bolton 980 
Matthew Scott 1,023

Henry Bolton 831 
Matthew Scott 993

Henry Bolton 1,271
Matthew Scott 919

Henry Bolton 828
Matthew Scott 1,016

Henry Bolton 986 
Matthew Scott 834

Tonbridge and Malling
Henry Bolton 836
Matthew Scott 1,051

Henry Bolton 1,003
Matthew Scott 816

Bolton 993
Scott 1,110

Bolton 673
Scott 875

Bolton 1,165
Scott 972

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More