Home   Kent   News   Article

MPs voting in parliament about whether to delay Brexit

MPs have voted to delay Brexit until June 30 as the political wrangling about the terms of the UK's departure from the EU continues.

A government motion was approved by 412 votes to 202 - a majority of 210.

It comes after MPs rejected the UK leaving the EU without a deal by 321 to 278 votes yesterday.

Another amendment, which called for a delay to allow time for a second referendum, tabled by Tory MP Sarah Woolaston, was rejected by 334 votes to 85 - a majority of 249.

MPs also rejected an amendment requesting a Brexit delay until June 30 and for parliament to take control of what happens next by 314 votes to 311.

A third amendment by Labour MP Hilary Benn to delay Brexit in order to find a way forward with majority support was defeated by 314 votes to 312.

Another by Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn to delay Brexit and find a different approach was rejected by 318 votes to 302 - a majority of 16.

The government's main proposal, which was approved, stated it "will seek to agree with the European Union a one-off extension of the period specified in Article 50 (3) for a period ending on 30 June 2019 for the purpose of passing the necessary EU exit legislation".

In other developments,Theresa May is to make a third attempt to get her deal through Parliament in the next week.

Meanwhile, Sittingbourne and Sheppey MP Gordon Henderson said he was ashamed to be in politics after yesterday's votes.

"My constituents are incandescent with rage at the way they are being treated by Parliament," he said.

"There are forces at work to deny the people the right to have what they voted for.

"Over the last couple of days we have seen the proof of that."

Read our live blog here

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More