Home   Maidstone   Sport   Article

Maidstone United boss Hakan Hayrettin named National League South manager-of-the-year while Joan Luque is player-of-the-year

Champions Maidstone have taken top honours in the National League South awards.

There’s also recognition for Dartford but Ebbsfleet have been overlooked despite reaching this weekend’s play-off final at Dorking Wanderers.

Hakan Hayrettin has been named manager-of-the-year after leading Maidstone to the title, while 20-goal Spanish winger Joan Luque takes the player-of-the-year award.

Luque is one of three Stones players in the league’s team-of-the-season, along with left-back Jerome Binnom-Williams and centre-half Joe Ellul.

Maidstone boasted the meanest defence, with only 38 goals conceded, so it’s no surprise to see their back four well-represented in the XI which, like the player-of-the-year prize, is voted for by the clubs.

Dartford boasted the second best defence in the division, conceding only four more than Maidstone, a record which sees ever-dependable captain Tom Bonner named in the XI.

Midfielder Jack Jebb is the second Darts player to feature.

A dead-ball specialist who drove on the side after Noor Husin was sold to Southend, Jebb was one of the first names on the teamsheet as Darts finished fourth before going out of the play-offs to Chippenham.

Ebbsfleet, who took third place, are the only team in the top five not represented in the team-of-the-season, with three from Dorking and two for Oxford City.

Team-of-the-season: Ben Dudzinski (Oxford City), Barry Fuller (Dorking), Joe Ellul (Maidstone), Tom Bonner (Dartford), Jerome Binnom-Williams (Maidstone), Jack Jebb (Dartford), Josh Ashby (Oxford City), Matt Briggs (Dorking), Alfie Rutherford (Dorking), Shaun Jeffers (St Albans), Joan Luque (Maidstone).

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More