Home   Malling   News   Article

Conservatives, Liberal Democrats, Labour, Greens, Ukip, the Independent Alliance Party and Independents fight for the vote in Tonbridge and Malling

By Alan Smith

When Tonbridge and Malling voters go to the polls on Thursday, May 2, the Conservatives can be confident of success - despite the fiasco their party has made at a national level over Brexit.

They currently hold 48 of the 54 seats on the council, with the Lib Dems on four and the Independents on two.

The Conservatives again start from a commanding position - they are the only party to have entered a full slate of candidates for all 24 wards. Indeed two of their candidates - in Downs and Mereworth Ward - are already home dry, since no-one else put up a candidate to stand against them.

The Tories are a safe bet to still be running the council after the election.
The Tories are a safe bet to still be running the council after the election.

The Lib Dems are putting forward 27 candidates, Labour 22, the Greens 14. There are six independents, four Ukip candidates and four candidates from the Independent Alliance Party, making a total of 131 men and women contesting for the public's vote.

However, the Conservatives may not have it all their own way. In several wards it is a straight fight between themselves and one other party - the Lib Dems in the case of Snodland East and Ham Hill, and again in Larkfield North, and Labour in the case of Burham and Wouldham, and Aylesford South.

In addition the Independent Alliance candidates, with a strong local base, are expected to do well and nobody quite knows what the Brexit debate will do to the fortunes of Ukip.

It is just possible they could see a resurgence of support as those leavers who feel betrayed by the main parties' procrastination over Brexit vent their anger.

The fiercest battle will be in Medway Ward. With three seats up for grabs, there are 11 candidates from five parties seeking support.

The council is not counting the votes until the morning after polling, so we will not know the results until around midday on Friday.

At the same as they choose their borough councillors, voters in three parishes will be asked to vote for parish or town councillors.

There were a total of 269 parish and town seats due to be contested, but in 32 parishes there were insufficient candidates to require a vote and all those who were nominated are considered automatically elected.

The borough council election candidates are:

Aylesford North and Walderslade (3 seats)

Michael Base, Con

Des Keers, Con

Andrew Kennedy, Con

Rizwana, Shelly, Lab

Shakiba Shelley, Lab

Thomas Shelley, Lab

Liz Simpson, Lib Dem

Aylesford South (2 seats)

Toni Beadle, Lab

Steve Hammond, Con

Julia Taylor, Lab

Colin Williams, Con

Borough Green and Long Mill (3 seats)

Matthew Botten, Con

Wendy Wendy, Independent Alliance

Harry Rayner, Con

Tim Shaw, Independent Alliance

Mike Taylor, Independent Alliance

Bartosz Wlodarczyk, Con

Burham and Wouldham (2 seats)

Steve Beadle, Lab

Roger Dalton, Con

Fave Davis, Con

Lola Oyewusi, Lab

Cage Green (2 seats)

Dennis Buckley, Green

Mark Davis, Con

Nicolas Heslop, Con

Frances Long, Green

Rob Shergold, Lib Dem

Michelle Wallington, Lib Dem

Castle (2 seats)

Mary Arigho, Lab

Vivian Branson, Con

Karen King, Con

Robert Songer, Lib Dem

Paul Stepto, Green

John Watson-Reynolds, Green

Julian Wilson, Lab

Ditton (2 seats)

Robert Cannon, Con

David Cooper, Con

Julia Jenner, Lab

Yan Malinowski, Lib Dem

Darren Nicholls, Lib Dem

East Malling (2 seats)

Kathleen Garlick, Lab

Dan Markham, Con

Fiona Markham, Con

Roger Roud, Lib Dem

Michelle Tatton, Lib Dem

Hadlow and East Peckham (3 seats)

Jill Anderson, Con

Stephen Jackson, Green

Jordan Mahoney, Lib Dem

Howard Rogers, Con

Janet Sergison, Con

Alan Willock, Ukip

Higham (2 seats)

Yvonne Brightmore, Lib Dem

Dennis King, Con

Douglas Ramsay, Lab

Charlotte Stockdale, Green

Frixos Tombolis, Con

Hildenborough (2 seats)

Peter Cooke, Green

Nick Foyle, Con

Adrian Gilbert, Ukip

Richard Mountford, Green

Mark Rhodes, Con

Chris Scott, Lib Dem

Helen Scott, Lib Dem

Patricia Townend, Lab

Judd (2 seats)

Colin Bullen, Ukip

April Clark, Green

David Cure, Con

Mark Hood, Green

Tony Lambeth, Con

Kings Hill (3 seats)

Sarah Barker, Ind

Christopher Brown, Con

Suzanne Burdon, Lib Dem

Millie Langridge, Con

Andrew Russell, Lib Dem

Kim Tanner, Con

David Waller, Ind

Larkfield North (2 seats)

Trudy Dean, Lib Dem

Dougie Dick, Con

Mike Parry-Waller, Con

David Thornewell, Lib Dem

Larkfield South (2 seats)

Timothy Bishop, Lib Dem

Tracy Hildrew, Con

Anita Oakley, Lib Dem

Chris Winn, Con

Medway (3 seats)

Jon Botten, Con

Matt Boughton, Con

Clive Gray, Green

Colin Hussey, Ukip

James Lark, Con

Jane Lloyd, Lib Dem

Sacha Marten, Lab

Zephanie Marten, Lab

Euan Munro, Lib Dem

Edward Partington, Green

Ralph Ruge, Green

Snodland East and Ham Hill (2 seats)

Jane Ayers, Lib Dem,

Sue Bell, Con

Ruth Lettinton, Con

Wayne, Mallard, Lab

Snodland West and Holborough Lakes (3 seats)

Ian Butterfield, Con

Paul Hickmott, Lab

Alan Keeley, Con

David Lettington, Con

Susan Shaw, Lab

Lea West, Lab

Trench (2 seats)

Pam Bates, Con

Carl Marten, Lab

Stacey Pilgrim, Ind

Simon Richardson, Lab

Georgina Thomas, Con

Vauxhall (2 seats)

Garry Bridge, Lib Den

Maria Heslop, Con

Frances Hoskins, Lib Dem

Carl Lewis, Con

Wateringbury (1 seat)

Mark Burrows, Ind

Sarah Hudson, Con

Siobhan Sharp, Lib Dem

West Malling and Leybourne (3 seats)

Bill Banks, Lib Dem

Neil Harrison, Ind

John Hobson, Lab

Brian Luker, Con

Zeenara Najam, Con

Lee O'Toole, Con

Nick Stapleton, Lib Dem

Nicholas Taplin, Lib Dem

Bob Ulph, Ind

Wrotham, Ightham and Stansted (2 seats)

Robin Betts, Con

Martin Coffin, Con

Scott Millener, Independent Alliance

Laura Roberts, Green

In addition there was one uncontested ward, so these are the election results:

Downs and Mereworth (2 seats)

Ann Kemp, Con elected

Piers, Montague, Con elected

Join the debate...
Comments |

Don't have an account? Please Register first!

The KM Group does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments
We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules. If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here, email multimediadesk@thekmgroup.co.uk or call 01634 227989.

Follow us

Like Us on Facebook

Most popular

Kent Travel News

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More