Published: 23:00, 23 February 2021
| Updated: 23:44, 23 February 2021
Gillingham felt they should have been awarded a penalty moments before Wimbledon hit their winner on Tuesday.
Manager Steve Evans was adamant one of his former players Alex Woodyard - who he signed while in charge at Peterborough - had handled the ball in the box. Referee Paul Howard waved play on and shortly afterwards the Dons scored when Jack Rudoni netted from distance.
Woodyard’s reaction post-match confirmed what Evans already suspected.
He said: “I know Alex Woodyard. He walked past me, I said to him ‘was it a penalty?’ and he winked.
“He is a great kid, he knows what he has done but he has got away with it.
“We didn’t get any help from the match official who didn’t do his job. It is a big decision but you can see his arm come fully out.
“We are not guaranteed to score a penalty, we missed one on Saturday, but we should have had one on 89 minutes. I thought he (the referee) was poor for both teams all night.
“It’s a penalty. But it wasn’t just about the penalty, first half we were poor, two poor teams first half, it looked like two relegated teams. We were as bad as them.
“We made the changes (at the break), we stepped it up, we had all the play, we had purpose, we had half chances and a massive one for (Vadaine) Oliver, and as a striker you have to score them.
“He (Rudoni) scored with a good strike but I think it has gone through my goalkeeper’s arms, through the gate as we call it, he has over-dived I think, but I need to look at it back.”