Home   Sittingbourne   News   Article

Tories hold on to Kemsley seat

by Hayley Robinson

The Conservatives managed to hold on to their seat in the Kemsley by-election.

Mike Whiting was declared the new ward councillor last Thursday.

The announcement was made by Swale council’s chief executive and returning officer Abdool Kara at Kemsley Village Hall at around 11pm.

A total of 4,930 people were eligible to vote at the polls but only 1,142 ballot papers were issued, one of which was spoilt.

Of the 23.16% turnout, Mr Whiting received 384 votes (33.7%).

Labour’s Richard Raycraft received 312 (27.3%), UKIP’s Derek Carnell 279 (24.5%) and the Liberal Democrats’ Berick Tomes 166 (14.5%).

The by-election for the two-ward seat was called after the death of former councillor Brenda Simpson in December.

The other seat is held by Cllr Sue Gent (Cons).

For full story see tomorrow's Sittingbourne News Extra.

Follow us

Like Us on Facebook

Most popular

Kent Travel News

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More