Mostly sunny


34°C | 16°C

Light rain


26°C | 16°C

Sunny spells


27°C | 17°C

Home   Ashford   News   Article

Ashford Independent candidate Noel Ovenden takes Wye ward in by-election

07 March 2014
by Tim Collins

Noel Ovenden

Noel Ovenden

Ashford Independent (Ash Ind) candidate Noel Ovenden has taken the ward of Wye in a by-election held yesterday.

Mr Ovenden took the seat, vacated when former councillor Steve Wright stood down in January, with 323 votes.

Mr Ovenden's victory will bring the number of Ash Ind borough councilors back up to full strength, after Cllr Philip Sims took the decision to defect to the Conservatives.

With a turnout of 41% of the total electorate of 1,833 voters, Mr Ovenden took around 43% of the total votes cast.

Of the four other candidates, Ian Richard Cooling (Con) received 240 votes, Elaine Evans (UKIP) 97 votes, Geoffrey Jasper Meaden (Green) 55 votes, Dylan Jones (Lab) 22 votes) and in last place, Kenneth Charles Blanshard (Lib Dem) received 13 votes.

One ballot paper was rejected for being unmarked or wholly void for uncertainty.

For the full story, see next week's Kentish Express.

Click here for more news from Ashford.

Click here for more news from around the county.