Home   Kent   Sport   Article

Chris Wyles and Clare Reeves crowned Kent Fitness Cross Country League champions after final round at Swanley Park

The final race in the Kent Fitness Cross Country League 2013-14 took place in warm sunshine at Swanley Park on Sunday, having been postponed for a month due to the severe weather conditions, writes Alan Newman.

After seven races involving a record number of 889 athletes, the final positions were decided with two athletes achieving perfection.

Chris Wyles
Chris Wyles

The champions are Chris Wyles (New Eltham Joggers) and Clare Reeves (Dartford Harriers), who were undefeated in their five best races.

As the successful defending champion, Wyles will face a two-year suspension from scoring for his club in accordance with league rules, so a new male champion is guaranteed next season.

The team race was in doubt until the final event, when Dartford Harriers went one point clear of dogged opposition from Sevenoaks in the combined table, which requires 10 athletes of both sexes and mixed age groups to count.

The defending champions, Canterbury Harriers, were third overall but had their moment in the sun when their women’s team won the league from Dartford Harriers and Sevenoaks.

Wyles closed his account in style with a classic gun-to-tape victory over first M40 master Allan Lee (Sevenoaks) and Andrew Pickett (Dartford Harriers), who led his team to success on the day and overall.

Age group winners at Swanley were M45 Mike Fanning (Sevenoaks), M50 Robert Whittaker (Sittingbourne), M55 Adam Cowper-Smith (Canterbury), M60 Alan Newman (Paddock Wood), M65 Phil Wallace (Medway & Maidstone) and M70 Eddie Broad (Larkfield).

Clare Reeves dominated the women’s race at Swanley to win by almost two minutes from Chloe Sharp (Dartford Harriers) and W40 champion Jenny Neal (New Eltham Joggers).

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More