Home   Contact us   Kentish Gazette team

Kentish Gazette publication

Kentish Gazette

The newspaper that was to become the Kentish Gazette first came off the press in Canterbury in 1717. That makes the Kentish Gazette the oldest title within the KM Group - indeed the second oldest in the country.

In 1942 its offices in St George's Street, Canterbury, were bombed along with most of that part of the city in a devastating Luftwaffe attack.

Amazingly that week's paper came out with a full report of the bombing thanks to the help of the Kent Messenger which allowed staff to use its unscathed offices.

Kentish Gazette was acquired by KM Group in 1980 and was named Weekly Paid-for Newspaper of the Year at the EDF Energy London & the South of England Media Awards 2010.

The Kentish Gazette series includes the Whitstable Gazette, the Herne Bay Gazette and the Faversham News.

If you have a story, call 01227 475985

If you would like to advertise, call 01227 768181

Write to us at Gazette House, 5-8 Boorman Way, Estuary View Business Park, Whitstable, Kent CT5 3SE

Or email kentishgazette@thekmgroup.co.uk, whitstablegazette@thekmgroup.co.uk, hernebaygazette@thekmgroup.co.uk, favershamnews@thekmgroup.co.uk.

Please join us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter: @kentishgazette; @whitstablekm; @hernebaygazette or @favershamnews.

Kentish Gazette is available to buy from newsagents, by subscription (call 0800 525450) and online.

If you have a complaint about an article in this newspaper, click here

The Team

Leo Whitlock
Editor
lwhitlock@thekmgroup.co.uk

Joe Walker
News editor
joewalker@thekmgroup.co.uk

Gerry Warren
Chief reporter (Canterbury)
gwarren@thekmgroup.co.uk

Alex Claridge
Reporter (Canterbury)
aclaridge@thekmgroup.co.uk

Chris Pragnell
Reporter (Canterbury)
cpragnell@thekmgroup.co.uk

Dan Wright
Reporter (Herne Bay)
dwright@thekmgroup.co.uk

Bess Browning
Reporter (Faversham)
bbrowning@thekmgroup.co.uk

James Rose
Reporter (Whitstable)
jrose@thekmgroup.co.uk

Paul Hooper
Crown court reporter
phooper@thekmgroup.co.uk

Paul Francis
Political editor
pfrancis@thekmgroup.co.uk

Chris Price
Business editor
cprice@thekmgroup.co.uk

Mark Stokes
East Kent sports editor
mstokes@thekmgroup.co.uk

Trevor Burch
Area Commercial Manager
tburch@thekmgroup.co.uk

Rhian Hopkins
Sales Promotions Manager
Tel: 01634 227800
rhopkins@thekmgroup.co.uk

* Please include your name and postcode. By supplying your telephone number you consent to receive SMS messages from KM Media Group regarding new promotions, products and services. Please add the word STOP at the end of your message if you do not wish to receive these messages. If you have any queries please call 0800 0855810 between 9am and 5pm, Monday to Friday. Or email enquiries@thekmgroup.co.uk For additional terms and conditions click here.

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More