Home   Ashford   News   Article

Conservatives maintain control of Ashford seats in Kent County Council elections

Election count in Ashford
Election count in Ashford

The count began in Ashford this morning (Friday)

by Tim Collins

across Kent. despite big lossesThe Conservatives have managed to keep hold of all but one of their county council seats in the borough,

Counters from Ashford Borough Council began tallying the results of the votes cast across the town yesterday (Thursday) at around 10am this morning (Friday).

The results, which were announced just before 11.30am, showed a clear victory for the Conservative party, who only narrowly managed to retain overall control of Kent County Council (KCC).

Five out of a total of six wards were left in the hands of the Tories after the last county-wide election, held in 2009.

Labour’s Derek Smyth gained the only victory over the Conservatives, picking up the South ward after Cllr Jim Wedgbury successfully stepped in to fill the shoes of his outgoing colleague Elizabeth Tweed, who stood down from the Central ward.

Incumbent Conservative candidates Andrew Wickham and Mike Angell maintained control of the Rural East and Rural South wards, while Liberal Democrat George Koowarie retained the town’s East ward.

Newcomer Charlie Simkins gained control of outgoing Conservative colleague Richard King’s Rural West ward.

Where the Ashford results mirrored the picture across Kent, however, was in the gains made by the UK Independence Party (UKIP).

UKIP came second place in all six of the borough’s county-council wards.

For the full story, and reaction, see next week’s Kentish Express, out Thursday, May 9.

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More