Published: 07:00, 25 April 2014
| Updated: 19:44, 25 April 2014
It’s one of Ashford town centre’s most iconic landmarks.
The Mark IV tank, No 245, sits under a specially constructed covered area in St George’s Square.
Hundreds if not thousands of people pass it each week, and it’s admired by visitors to the town.
But few will know why it’s there and how it got there.
Well, the answers are outlined in the latest in our series of Great War Stories – on pages 30 and 31.
We tell the detailed story of how on August 1, 1919, the tank arrived by rail at Ashford station.
It was met by a Tank Corps crew, who drove it along Station Road, through the High Street and to St George’s Square at a maximum speed of 3.7mph, to the delight of the crowds in the town centre who watched the slow journey.
It’s been there ever since.