Published: 10:02, 08 October 2019
| Updated: 10:28, 08 October 2019
An ancient Kent pub that first opened more than half-a-millenium ago is up for sale.
The Abbot's Fireside in Elham, a quaint village near Canterbury, was built as an inn known as The Smithies Arms in 1451 - and is still operating as an inn and restaurant 568 years later.
For the last three-and-a-half years it has been run by Eric and Helen Gaskell. But it has now gone on the market, as the couple have announced plans to retire.
The Abbot's Fireside, which offers a range of food and drinks as well as accommodation, has a four-out-of-five rating on Tripadvisor.
Added to throughout Tudor and Stuart times, The High Street business boasts original features including a huge medieval fireplace and leaded glass windows.
It has seven en-suite bedrooms, each of which is named after well-known or local people who are connected to the building's history.
To the rear is a small courtyard garden, while to the front is additional seating and car parking.
James Hughes, senior business agent at Christie & Co which is handling the sale, said: “The Abbot’s Fireside is located in the tranquil village of Elham.
"It is well situated due to its close proximity to the channel ferry crossing and Euro tunnel, meaning they get lots of tourists visiting and staying from overseas.
"It is a great opportunity for a new operator to push this business even further.”
The Abbot’s Fireside is on the market at an asking price of £675,000 for the freehold interest.