Home   Canterbury   Sport   Article

Darren Stevens close to signing new contract to stay at Kent

By KentOnline reporter

Kent all-rounder Darren Stevens is confident he will soon put pen to paper on a one-year contract extension after enjoying his best-ever season with the ball.

The 41-year-old picked up the Derek Underwood Award as Kent’s bowler-of-the-season at Friday night’s annual end of season presentation evening at The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence, and says that he hopes to stay with the club he has served since joining from Leicestershire in 2005.

He revealed: “I have been offered a contract, which I’m really pleased about, but I’ve not signed it as yet.

Darren Stevens in NatWest T20 Blast action Picture: Andy Jones
Darren Stevens in NatWest T20 Blast action Picture: Andy Jones

“There are a couple of things, small things, that we need to have a chat about first. But given my personal performances this season I’d like to think we can iron those points out and we can all look forward to another year.”

As for winning the club's bowling award after taking a career-best 63 first-class wickets in a season, Kent's veteran talisman, who has also been named in BBC Sport’s team-of-the-year, said: “Most people who know me understand that I thrive on winning games and team trophies.

"Though personal awards are nice, for me it’s all about winning games. We play the game to win silverware.”

Stevens collected 5-95 across both innings of last week's dismal defeat at home to Glamorgan in Kent's Specsavers County Championship Division 2 finale.

He admitted: "We were so desperate to finish the season on a high but it just wasn’t to be. We had all-four days washed out at Chesterfield (the previous week) then faced some high-class bowling from Michael Hogan back here.

“The boys were tired, as they should be because it’s been a long season, but I felt we gave it a decent shot right until the end of the season. But yes, there’s no escaping the fact that, all in all, it’s been a disappointing year.”

Kent’s player-of the season, voted for by the club’s supporters, went to Joe Denly, who also won the Mike Denness Award as batsman-of-the-season after scoring almost 1,900 runs across three competitions.

Sean Dickson collected the Alan Ealham Award as fielder-of-the-year, while, for Kent women, Alice Davidson-Richards was named player-of-the-season with Phoebe Franklin selected as fielder-of-the-year.

Join the debate...
Comments |

Don't have an account? Please Register first!

The KM Group does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments
We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules. If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here, email multimediadesk@thekmgroup.co.uk or call 01634 227989.

Follow us

Like Us on Facebook

Most popular

Kent Travel News

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More