Home   Canterbury   Sport   Article

Darren Stevens wins Kent player of the year for second successive season

Darren Stevens has been voted Kent's player of the year by the club's supporters for the second year running.

The shortened summer season saw Kent compete in just the Bob Willis Trophy and the T20 Blast.

Darren Stevens - still going strong at 44. Picture: Ady Kerry
Darren Stevens - still going strong at 44. Picture: Ady Kerry

Stevens, who has signed a new deal to stay at the county in 2021, took 29 wickets at just 15.58 apiece.

The former Leicestershire all-rounder, who will turn 45 at the end of April next year, was also named Bowler of the Year

The award was the highlight of the club's awards, which were presented digitally due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Two new awards were handed out for the first time, with three players all at the start of their Kent careers sharing the accolades.

The 'Moment of the Year' award, celebrating an outstanding achievement on the field, went to Jordan Cox and Jack Leaning's monumental 423-run partnership against Sussex in the Bob Willis Trophy - the highest batting partnership in the club's history, and the highest first-class partnership ever recorded at The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence.

Marcus O'Riordan claimed the first 'Emerging Player of the Year' award after averaging 43.20 with bat, despite being moved around the order, and 31.87 with his off-spin in his first full season in the first team. He scored his maiden first-class half-century against Hampshire in September.

Daniel Bell-Drummond won both Batsman of the Year and Spitfire One-Day Player of the Season after his 608 runs across both formats - he averaged 46.66 with the bat in the Vitality Blast. Jordan Cox was named Fielder of the Year award.

The club also took time to say goodbye to players who have left in 2020, namely Sean Dickson, Adam Rouse, Ivan Thomas and Calum Haggett.

Zak Crawley, who scored a double century for England, his maiden T20 ton for Kent and the PCA Young Player of the Year award, collected the Players' Player of the Year award for the second season in a row.

Three players shared the women awards. Sarah Bryce, a new recruit this summer, was named Player of the Year and Batter of the year.

Off-spinner Megan Belt was Players' Player of the Year and Bowler of the Year while Kalea Moore was Fielder of the Year.

Read more: All the latest sports news in Kent

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More