Home   Dartford   Sport   Article

Monty Panesar and Shivnarine Chanderpaul playing for Lashings All-Stars at Dartford CC

By Steve Tervet

Some of cricket’s most famous names are coming to Dartford on Friday with the Lashings All-Stars.

England spinner Monty Panesar will be joined by West Indian legend Shivnarine Chanderpaul at Hesketh Park in a line-up which also includes former greats from India, Pakistan and South Africa.

Lashings will be coached by Gordon Greenidge and Henry Blofeld of Test Match Special provides commentary, while Phil Tufnell is the special guest.

Monty Panesar is in the Lashings team to face Dartford Picture: Andy Payton
Monty Panesar is in the Lashings team to face Dartford Picture: Andy Payton

Dartford 1st XI captain Jamie Williams said: "It’s massive for the club. We can show off our great facilities and show what good youngsters we’ve got at the club, give them a chance to play against guys they would have looked up to while growing up, watching them on television, some massive names.

"I’m looking forward to the challenge of playing against guys who are far better than I could ever dream of being, having a go against what have been some of the best players in their time."

Picking a team for such a prestigious game wasn’t easy.

Williams said: "We’ve rewarded some boys who might not necessarily be the best cricketers in the club but have contributed off the field.

"We’ve got some first-teamers, some 15 or 16-year-olds and a couple of older guys who
have done good work at the club.

"We haven’t just picked our best team – we’ve tried to show people a bit of appreciation for what they’ve done."

After a three-course meal at 12.30pm, the game starts at 4pm with Lashings to bat first.

Entry to the ground, on Pilgrims Way, is free.

Dartford: John Smythe (captain), Jamie Williams, Callum Jackson, Pravan Thind, Dan Stone, Alex Cullingham, David Webb, Henry Clarke, Howard Powell, James Fitzgerald, David Crawley, Kevin Webb.

Lashings: Wasim Jaffer, Kirk Edwards, Usman Afzaal, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Chris Schofield (captain), Chris Lewis, Yasir Arafat, Tino Best, Martin Bicknell, Charl Willoughby, John Emburey, Monty Panesar, Devon Malcolm.

Follow us

Like Us on Facebook

Most popular

Kent Travel News

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More