Home   Dover   Sport   Article

Inih Effiong and Kevin Lokko among the seven players leaving National League side Dover Athletic

Some of Dover Athletic’s best players are leaving the club.

Seven players are on the list of those leaving including captain and player-of-the-year Kevin Lokko and leading scorer for 2019/20 Inih Effiong.

Inih Effiong is one of seven players not being offered a new deal at Dover Picture: Alan Langley
Inih Effiong is one of seven players not being offered a new deal at Dover Picture: Alan Langley

Defender Lokko was made captain by manager Andy Hessenthaler last summer and picked up the supporters’ award after the National League season that was cut short.

Lokko, formerly of Stevenage, has had two season with Dover and boss Hessenthaler described his most recent as “very good,” and added that he had been a “proper captain” that led by example.

He was a player Hessenthaler was hoping to have kept.

Effiong is also leaving the club. He finished with the golden boot after scoring 16 goals in 38 games. He’s also spent the last two years with Dover.

Ricky Modeste was in the running for the player-of-the-year award but he’s leaving too. The Grenada international had a couple of spells with Dover, inbetween winning the Bostik Premier title with Billericay Town.

Winger Anthony Jeffrey is also among those to exit Crabble along with former Wolves full-back Aaron Simpson, midfielder Jai Reason and striker Ade Yusuff.

There are 15 players who remain contracted.

They are Yusif Mersin, Lee Worgan, Josh Passley, Bobby-Joe Taylor, Will De Havilland, Michael Woods, Nassim L’Ghoul,Jack Munns, Kurtis Cumberbatch, Paul Rooney, Joe Bedford, Oscar Gobern, Steven Rigg, Bilel Hinchiri, Marshall Wratten.

Players returning to their parent clubs are Ashley Maynard-Brewer (Charlton), Dominic Poleon (Newport County) and Shadrach Ogie (Leyton Orient).

Dover said: “We thank them all for their contributions this season and wish them well for the future.”

Read more sports news from Kent

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More