Home   Dover   Sport   Article

Dover Athletic have had 15 matches postponed in the 2020/21 National League season


More news, no ads

LEARN MORE

Dover's home match with Maidenhead United on Tuesday night has been postponed due to snow.

Crabble has been covered in snow following heavy snowfall during the past 24 hours and with no prospect of conditions improving quickly, the decision has been taken early to call the game off.

Dover's pitch covered in snow on Monday morning. Picture: Richard Harvey (44307852)
Dover's pitch covered in snow on Monday morning. Picture: Richard Harvey (44307852)

Dover's clash at home to Hartlepool at the weekend was postponed due to a waterlogged pitch.

Whites also had their National League clash with Torquay, scheduled for February 27, postponed as The Gulls will be in FA Trophy quarter-final action on that day.

Once those three fixtures are re-arranged, it will leave Dover with no more blank midweeks for any further re-arrangements, assuming they are not able to confirm an alternative game on February 27. Whites have a blank Saturday on April 24 due to Macclesfield's demise.

Dover's season hangs in the balance at the moment as clubs are still voting on whether to continue or declare the season null and void.

Whites chairman Jim Parmenter stepped down as a director of the National League on Sunday afternoon, citing that he could no longer support decisions being made that he didn't agree with.

“I can no longer support the direction of travel that the board is taking and I’m afraid I can no longer be seen to be party to actions which I absolutely disagree with," said Mr Parmenter.

“There are some very good people on the board and I do not seek to criticise individuals, but as a body I do not believe we have shown strong, relevant leadership. Our governance has descended into chaos and some decisions made by the board seem to change when interpreted by the executive.”

Read the full statement from Mr Parmenter here

The adverse weather has also caused Tonbridge Angels' match at Concord Rangers to be postponed.

Welling's home match with Braintree on Tuesday night in National League South has also been postponed due to snow.

Dover's remaining 2020/21 National League fixtures:

Sat Feb 13: FC Halifax (a)

Tue Feb 16: Sutton (a)

Sat Feb 20: King's Lynn (h)

Tue Feb 23: Woking (a)

Tue Mar 2: Maidenhead (a)

Sat Mar 6: Altrincham (a)

Tue Mar 9: Eastleigh (a)

Sat Mar 13: Wealdstone (h)

Tue Mar 16: Solihull Moors (a)

Sat Mar 20: Wrexham (h)

Tue Mar 23: Chesterfield (h)

Sat Mar 27: Boreham Wood (a)

Tue Mar 30: Dagenham (a)

Fri Apr 2: FC Halifax (h)

Mon Apr 5: Chesterfield (a)

Sat Apr 10: Sutton (h)

Tue Apr 13: Barnet (a)

Sat Apr 17: Weymouth (a)

Tue Apr 20: Weymouth (h)

Tue Apr 27: Wealdstone (a)

Sat May 1: Bromley (h)

Mon May 3: Aldershot (a)

Sat May 8: Stockport (h)

Sat May 15: Notts County (a)

Sat May 22: Yeovil (h)

Sat May 29: Hartlepool (a)

TBA: Hartlepool (h)

Maidenhead (h)

Torquay (h)

Read more: All the latest sports news in Kent

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More