Home   Dover   Sport   Article

Dover Athletic announce departure of 11 players in official retained list

Dover Athletic have confirmed nine players that will be sticking around at Crabble ahead of the 2019/2020 season.

The club has meanwhile released 11 players as well as bidding farewell to Josh Debayo, who returns to parent club Cheltenham Town following his loan spell.

Whites are also waiting on responses from five players that have been offered new contracts on the back of the club's National League survival.

Mitch Brundle. Picture: Alan Langley
Mitch Brundle. Picture: Alan Langley

Those under contract and remaining at the club include Players' Player of the Season Kevin Lokko, 2018/2019 top scorer Inih Effiong and goalkeeper Lee Worgan.

Jai Reason will also be staying put along with the likes of Alfie Pavey, Ricky Modeste, Scott Doe and Josh Passley, while Dover have taken up the option of retaining Jamie Allen's services.

Manager Andy Hessenthaler will now be hoping to hear positive answers from captain and Supporters' Player of the Season Mitch Brundle, Bobby-Joe Taylor, Anthony Jeffrey, Bedsente Gomis and Joe Bedford - all of whom have been approached with new deals.

Stuart Lewis is a high profile departure having been instrumental in helping Dover fight back from a torrid start to the season to finish closer to the play-offs than the relegation zone.

Discussing the midfielder's decision, Hessenthaler said: "He came to see me on Thursday, he's still got a year left on his contract but unfortunately I just don't think he can commit to the full-time training any more and the travelling.

"I think he's looking at perhaps going to play part-time football now, closer to home, he's got a family, he's got other commitments as well that he wants to pursue. He's looking towards his own future and I get that.

"True class about the man, he's been honest and came and spoken to me. He could have left it until we came back in July but he's done it now so credit to him. He goes with my best wishes."

Goalkeeper Mitch Walker has also been released after making 279 appearances for the club, the last of which arrived in Saturday's 3-0 win over Sutton.

Kadell Daniel, David Smith, Connor Essam, Jack Connors, Tobi Sho-Silva, Nortei Nortey, Tim Scholl, Moussa Diarra and Emmanuel Adebowale make up the remainder of those to leave.

Read more: Mitch Walker excited by the future after seven-year stint at Crabble ends

More by this author

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More