Home   Maidstone   News   Article

Tories hold Faversham and Mid Kent

Helen Whately is the new MP for Faversham and Mid Kent.

The result was announced by the deputy returning officer at 6.36am.

Mrs Whately’s victory had hardly seemed in doubt since she had inherited a safe Tory seat from her popular predecessor Sir Hugh Robertson.

Victory for Helen Whately
Victory for Helen Whately

Her constituency includes much of the borough of Maidstone.

At the last election in 2010, Sir Hugh gained a majority of 17,088 over second placed Dave Naghi (Lib Dem).

Mrs Whately achieved a majority of 16,652 over the second-placed Ukip candidate..

She said: "I am so thrilled; this is such an honour!"

Dave Naghi: his vote fell
Dave Naghi: his vote fell

It will be her first time as MP for the 38-year-old mother of three, who previously stood for her party unsuccessfully in 2010 for the Kingston and Surbiton constituency.

Hairy Knorm Davidson in action
Hairy Knorm Davidson in action

Faversham and Mid Kent has always been Conservative since it was formed in 1997.

The full result was:

Helen Whately (Con) 24,895

Peter Edwards-Daem (Ukip) 8,243

Michael Desmond (Lab) 7,403

Dave Naghi (Lib Dem) 3,039

Tim Valentine (Green) 1,768

Hairy Knorm Davidson (Raving Looney) 297

Gary Butler (Eng Dem) 158

The turnout was 68%.

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More