Home   Medway   News   Article

Gillingham and Rainham general election 2024 results in full

Gillingham and Rainham has turned red as Labour ousted the Tories in another Kent seat.

Naushabah Khan scored 15,562 votes for Sir Keir Starmer’s party who won a landslide victory across the nation.

Labour celebrating their victory in Gillingham and Rainham
Labour celebrating their victory in Gillingham and Rainham

Mr Chisti, who had been the MP here since 2010, came in second with 11,590 votes, while Rizvi Rawoof of Reform UK was third on 8,792.

The full set of results are listed below.

The seat had been held by the Tories since 2010 but was a key target for the Labour Party, with Sir Keir Starmer launching the party’s election campaign in Gillingham in May.

In 2019, Mr Chishti won the constituency for the Conservatives with a 15,000 majority, but there are signs he may not be so secure this time around.

After her win, Naushabah Khan said: “It does feel a little bit surreal, but also pretty incredible.

“This is my hometown, where I grew up, so the opportunity to represent it and actually make change in this community means so much to me, and it's not a job that I'd take lightly.

“One of the big priorities is Gillingham town centre, how we can make that feel safe and welcoming to people, because I think it is symptomatic of the wider issues that we have across Gillingham.”

She said the Reform UK vote demonstrated a mistrust in politics, but she said she would work to restore people’s faith by meeting the priorities of constituents on issues like housing, the cost of living, and the health service.

At the May 2023 local elections, across Medway there was a nearly 6% swing to the Labour party which led to the Tories losing control of the council for the first time in 20 years.

Medway Council leader Vince Maple said he was very happy with the results, and paid tribute to the hard work of the outgoing MPs.

He added: “It’s fantastic to see the people of Medway once again trust Labour and we now have three fantastic MPs in Tris Osborne, Lauren Edwards and Naushabah Khan.”

Key moments from thje county

4:33am: Labour win Gillingham and Rainham

2:10am: Turnout announced as 56.1% - 41,277 votes.

1:56am: All ballot boxes have been verified.

12am: Rehman Chishti arrives at the count but will not speak on the exit poll predictions.

10pm: The exit poll suggests Gillingham and Rainham will be won by the Labour Party.

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More