Home   Medway   Sport   Article

Rachael Burford named Sportsperson of the year at the 2018 Medway Sports Awards

By Matthew Panting

Rachael Burford completed a personal hat-trick at the Medway Sports Awards on Friday night.

Burford, a winner in 2006 and 2010, was named sportsperson of the year for a third time.

It capped another brilliant two years for the rugby union star, who has won more than 80 England caps having represented her country for over a decade.

Rachael Burford collects her Sportsperson of the year award at the Medway Sports Awards. Picture: Chris Davey
Rachael Burford collects her Sportsperson of the year award at the Medway Sports Awards. Picture: Chris Davey

"It's a huge honour and I didn't expect it at all," beamed Burford.

"I'm really proud to still be playing and keep representing my roots. Medway (still) has a big part in my heart."

Burford was handed the award by inspirational guest of honour Lizzy Yarnold and Medway Council deputy leader Howard Doe.

Junior Sportsperson of the year went to Youth Olympic gold-medal winning boxer Karol Itauma.

Winter Paralympic gold medalist Charlotte Evans and boxing referee Ian John-Lewis were both inducted into Medway's Hall of Fame.

The awards, sponsored by Bubble & Scruff and organised by Medway Council's Medway Sport team, were held at MidKent College and were expertly hosted by Eleanor Oldroyd.

Other winners on the night were:

Team of the year - Holcombe HC ladies 1st XI

Junior team of the year - Champion Aerobic Gymnastics Club - GBR team members

Primary School of the year - Lordswood Junior School

Official of the year - Ann Hopkins

Coach of the year - Eddie Orgee

Secondary School of the year - Greenacre Academy

Unsung hero of the year - Dan Gower-Smith and Gary Smith

Club of the year - Anchorians FC

Junior Club of the year - Kent Crusaders Basketball Club

Guests also included Gillingham players Callum Reilly and Navid Nasseri, along with chairman Paul Scally and manager Steve Lovell.

Reaction from other winners plus the two new Hall of Fame inductees and a full list of the gold, silver and bronze awards will be in Thursday's Medway Messenger.

Join the debate...
Comments |

Don't have an account? Please Register first!

The KM Group does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments
We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules. If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here, email multimediadesk@thekmgroup.co.uk or call 01634 227989.

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More