Home   Medway   Sport   Article

Personal best for Coleman in road race triumph

MIKE COLEMAN, of Medway and Maidstone AC, made his intentions clear from the start of the Canterbury 10-mile road race from the Chaucer Technology School.

The England cross-country international was well suited to the muddy conditions underfoot on the revised course which featured a series of laps and loops around the orchards behind the school. A new course was forced upon the organisers when the authorities withdrew support for the traditional route which included a busy stretch of the A2 and several congested villages.

There were no complaints from Coleman who ran from the front of the 850 entries to win in a personal best time of 49min 10sec, the fastest seen in Kent for several years. Although Coleman was never headed, he did have the company of John Creane (South Kent Harriers) for the first mile before pulling well clear of the massive field, many of whom were lapped in the process.

Creane was soon passed by Medway and Maidstone's latest recruit, Anthony Webb, who ran superbly for a lonely second place.

Having entered on the day, Creane was not eligible for any awards, so third prize went to James McNeill of Medway and Maidstone who enjoyed a race long battle with first veteran, Kevin Williams (Ashford AC), which was resolved by a margin of just two seconds.

Roy Palmer (Canterbury Harriers) completed the top six ahead of the closely matched Maidstone Harriers, David Law and David Davies, who was second veteran home.

Barry Watson (South Kent Harriers) was first over 50 athlete and the last finisher under the hour in 20th overall.

The team result was a surprise with hosts, Invicta East Kent, prevailing over Deal Triathletes and South Kent Harriers. Medway and Maidstone suffered as a result of newcomer Webb's ineligibility and Maidstone Harriers lacked quality support for their front runners, Law and Davies.

Janice Moorekite (Invicta East Kent) from Maidstone, was a popular women's race winner but only just as Alyson Parlett (Bexley) was gaining ground with every stride in the closing stages.

Phillippa Jackson, from Keswick, was an isolated third from Sharon Hawkins and Kim Howes, who ran strongly from Maidstone Harriers. Heather Fitzmaurice (Sevenoaks) filled sixth position and Bonny Appleby (Medway and Maidstone) was the first over 45 supervet in 12th overall.

Results: 1 Mike Coleman (Medway and Maidstone) 49.10, 2 Anthony Webb (Medway & Maidstone) 51.45, 3 John Creane (South Kent Harriers) 55.05, 4 James McNeill (Medway and Maidstone) 55.40, 5 Kevin Williams (Ashford M40) 55.42, 6 Roy Palmer (Canterbury Harriers) 57.07, 7 David Law (Maidstone Harriers) 57.54, 8 David Davies (Maidstone Harriers M40) 57.56, 9 Andrew Venus (Unattached) 58.07, 10 Toby Laver (Reading AC) 58.30, 11 Neil Renault (Deal Triathletes) 58.34, 12 Richard Owen (Tonbridge) 58.43, 13 A Moragham (Unattached) 58.47, 14 Tim Sutton (Invicta) 58.59, 15 Steven Shorter (Bexley0 59.13, 16 Tatsuo Yashiwara (Invicta) 59.16, 17 Michael Clark (Sevenoaks M40) 59.23, 18 Gerard Crisie (Croydon M40) 59.35, 19 Bill Sutherlands (Tonbridge M40) 59.52, 20 Barry Watson (South Kent M50) 59.58.

Over 50: Martyn Rouse (Invicta) 62.00, Van Heydinger (Folkestone) 62.31, Alan Spelling (Swanley) 63.11.

Teams: 1 Invicta East Kent, 2 Deal Triathletes, 3 South Kent Harriers.

Women: 1 Janice Moorekite (Invicta W35) 63.59, Alyson Parlett (Bexley W35) 64.06, 3 Phillippa Jackson (Keswick) 66.06, 4 Sharon Hawkins (Maidstone Harriers W35) 67.55, 5 Kim Howes (Maidstone Harriers W35) 68.47, 6 Heather Fitzmaurice (Sevenoaks) 69.41, 7 Shelley Hillier (Unattached W35) 69.57, 8 Sarah Newton (Serpentine W35) 72.15, 9 Sally Dawson (Herne Hill W35) 73.56, 10 Kaeti Mackenzie (Bexley) 74.20, 11 Jacqueline King (New Eltham) 74.30, 12 Bonny Appleby (Medway and Maidstone W45) 75.01, 13 Fiona Fursey (Unattached W35) 75.39, 14 Toni Bemowski (Unattached) 75.44, 15 Lisa Hoaran (Unattached W35) 77.28.

Team: Thanet Road Runners.

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More