Home   News   Charities   Article

Top school staff prepare for awards celebration

The county’s best teachers and school support staff are preparing to celebrate in style at a glittering awards night next month.

Winners of last year's Kent Teacher of The Year Awards. (1508032)
Winners of last year's Kent Teacher of The Year Awards. (1508032)

Fifty five staff and teams representing 49 schools and colleges have been named as the winners of the 2018 Kent Teacher of the Year Awards. A record number of entries were received with the judges having to assess more than 1,200 nominations – up 40 per cent on 2017.

Although event organisers are remaining tight lipped over the names of the winners, the schools they represent have been revealed and are listed below.

Simon Dolby, chief executive of the KM Charity Team, which stages the event, said: “The educators, leaders, support staff, and volunteers helping to make their school communities a success deserve recognition. As well as the 55 that have been invited to the awards night several hundred others received highly commended letters, enabling us to thank a significant section of those nominated.”

Mr Dolby added: “On behalf of the judging panel, can I thank school staff in Kent for the tremendous hard work and dedication they deliver on a daily basis within their schools. There is no more important job that educating the next generation.”

The awards are organised by the KM Charity Team and supported by Kent County Council, Medway Council, the University of Kent, Kent Sport, Canterbury Christ Church University, the University of Greenwich, Three R’s Teacher Recruitment, MY Trust, Social Enterprise Kent, Beanstalk, Hornby, CXK, Salus, LoopCR, Kreston Reeves, and Kent Further Education. The awards night will be staged at the Mercure Great Danes Hotel, Maidstone.

Schools with one or more member of staff named as a winner at the 2018 event are:

Bexley and Bromley

• Aspire Academy, Bexley

• Normandy Primary School


• Briary Primary School

• Canterbury College

• Canterbury High School

• Reculver CEP School

• Westmeads Community Infant School


• Invicta Grammar School

• Mid Kent College – Maidstone Campus

• Park Way Primary School (Maidstone)

• Tiger Primary School

• Ulcombe CEP School


• Academy of Cuxton Schools

• Hempstead Junior School

• Hilltop Primary School

• Mid Kent College – Medway Campus

• Strood Academy

• Twydall Primary School, Nursery & Children’s Centre

Thanet and Dover

• Deal Parochial Church Of England Primary School

• East Kent College

• St Anthony’s School

• St Ethelbert’s Catholic Primary School

• St George’s Foundation School, Thanet

• Upton Junior School

North Kent

• Chantry Community Academy (Gravesham)

• North Kent College

• Saint George’s CE School, Gravesham

• Wilmington Academy

South Kent

• The Beacon School

• Brabourne CEP School

• Norton Knatchbull School

• Palmarsh Primary School

• Sandgate Primary School

• Seabrook CEP School

• Tenterden CEJ School

• The Wyvern School


• Bredgar CEP School

• Queenborough Primary School & Nursery

• Sheerness West Federation

• Sheldwich Primary School

• St Edward’s Catholic Primary School (Sheerness)

• St Mary of Charity CEP School

West Kent

• Bennett Memorial Diocesan School

• Borough Green Primary School

• Fordcombe CEP School

• Hillview School For Girls

• The Malling School

• Slade Primary School, Tonbridge

• Rolvenden Primary School

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More