Home   Sittingbourne   News   Article

Trio delighted by Alderman honour

By Hayley Robinson

Three former county councillors have become the first people to be made honorary aldermen for the county.

Former Mayor of Swale and former Kent County Council chairman Peter Morgan (pictured), from Sittingbourne, the former Bank of England governor and former KCC chairman Lord Kingsdown (Robin Leigh-Pemberton), and former Kent county councillor Allison Wainman OBE, from Bicknor, were all bestowed with the honour during a ceremony held at County Hall in Maidstone.

It is the first time the council has exercised its powers to confer these awards since it was given the power to do so under the local Government Act in 1972.

The awards are for former members who have served for 12 years or more on the county council and in recognition of their exceptional service to the council.

Mr Morgan, 83, said: "I am very flattered and grateful to have been given the title of honorary alderman.

"I was proud to have been elected to serve my adoptive town, Sittingbourne, as a county councillor for 14 years and even more proud to have been elected as chairman of KCC for one year in 1996.

"That privilege enabled me to meet many people as I travelled around the county on a multitude of duties.

"That experience taught me many things, but one is outstanding and that is that there are thousands of people all over the county giving quiet and thoughtful service to their communities and the reward they get is the knowledge that they have made a difference to the quality of life in their neighbourhood.

"My service was no more than hundreds of other people have given, but I am thankful that mine has been recognised in this award."

Lord Kingsdown said: "I feel very grateful for whoever’s idea it was to create this new honour and include me in it."

Mrs Wainman said: "I am greatly honoured to have been awarded this recognition by Kent County Council and delighted to accept."

A further five former county councillors from across Kent were also made honorary aldermen during the ceremony.

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More