Home   Tunbridge Wells   News   Article

Tunbridge Wells Borough Council election results

Tunbridge Wells Borough Council's Conservative dominance has grown following the local elections.

Sixteen wards were contested, six of which fall in the Weald area.

Following the count this morning, 14 now belong to the Conservatives, one to Labour and another to the Lib Dems.

Ballot box
Ballot box

Two Lib Dem wards changed hands, with Conservative candidates picking up the seats.

Nasir Jamil won St John's ward from Lib Dem Trevor Toile and Tom Dawlings took Francis Rook's seat in Benenden and Cranbrook

Conservative Catherine Mayhew has retained her Park seat while Lib Dem David Neve keeps St James.

Conservative Paddock Wood cllrs Bill Hills and Elizabeth Thomas also retained theirs.

Tory cllr Mike Rusbridge held his Southborough seat, Nathan Gray kept Hawkhurst and Sandhurst while Bob Backhouse kept his Sherwood seat.

Conservative cllr James Scholes retained Pantiles and St Mark's.

Julia Soyke held Speldhurst and Bidborough, as did Chris Woodward in Broadwater.

Labour's Graham John Munn won his seat in Southborough and High Brooms by a narrow margin of just three votes.

Newcomer Don Sloan has taken Culverden, which was already a Conservative ward.

Forty per cent of the electorate turned out to vote in the elections.

Allegations of election fraud are being investigated. Stock image.
Allegations of election fraud are being investigated. Stock image.


Benenden & Cranbrook Tom Dawlings Conservative

Brenchley & Horsmonden Councillor Alan McDermott Conservative

Broadwater Councillor Chris Woodward Conservative

Culverden Don Sloan Conservative

Hawkhurst & Sandhurst Nathan Derek Roger Gray Conservative

Paddock Wood (East) Councillor Bill Hills Conservative

Paddock Wood (West) Councillor Mrs Elizabeth Thomas Conservative

Pantiles & St Mark’s Councillor James Scholes Conservative

Park Councillor Mrs Catherine Mayhew Conservative

Pembury Councillor Paul Barrington-King Conservative

Sherwood Councillor Bob Backhouse Conservative

Southborough & High Brooms Graham John Munn Labour

Southborough North Councillor Mike Rusbridge Conservative

Speldhurst & Bidborough Councillor Mrs Julia Soyke Conservative

St James’ Councillor David Neve Liberal Democrats

St John’s Nasir Jamil Conservative

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More