Home   Kent   News   Article

Arrr! Pirates forced to pull plug on plank walking

The Sheppey Pirates join in the world record attempt
The Sheppey Pirates join in the world record attempt

Jolly Roger-raising pirates have cancelled one of the Island’s biggest events - after scallywags got out of hand last year.

Sheppey Pirates decided last night to pull the plug on this year’s World Walking the Plank Championships.

It happened after a series of incidents of bad behaviour by some of the crowd at last year’s event.

The swashbuckling event was due to be held at Queenborough Creek on Sunday, August 14.

It would have been the pirates’ 14th championship.

Hat trick - Mad Mike Young pogos into the harbour
Hat trick - Mad Mike Young pogos into the harbour

Pirates’ leader Captain Cutlass said: “It is with deep regret that we have cancelled this year’s 14th World Walking the Plank championships.

“The bad behaviour of a small number of the crowd at last year’s event threatened the good reputation we have built up over the years for a trouble-free family fun day.

“Their action lost us essential goodwill which has made it impossible for us to continue to stage the event at the same venue.

“We thank everyone who has helped and supported us over the years, particularly the gallant band of 'plankers’ who turned the championships into such a must-see event.”

He added: “The Sheppey Pirates will continue to attend events on the Island and in far off lands.”

The first World Walking the Plank championship was held off Sheerness Jetty in 1997.

After a long search, IT technician Adrian “Ada” Collins was voted into the top job as Captain Cutlass where he has remained.

The Captain, who insists he is 500-years-old, has built up a formidable crew assisted by Admiral Greybeard, MacStink, Skavenger, Blunderbuss, Barnacle, Remould, Long John Lenton and Scurvy Dog the Sea Scribe.

The championships moved to Queenborough Harbour in 1998.

Plankers were marked out of 10 in four categories and paid a £5 fee to jump, which was donated to the Royal National Lifeboat Institute.

Previous winners include Mad Mike Young, Heini Nielsen and Long John Lenton.

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More