Home   Kent   News   Article

Kent Invicta League formed at step 6 of the non-league pyramid

Kent League chairman Denise Richmond
Kent League chairman Denise Richmond

Kent football took a major step forward on Thursday evening in the FA National League System when 16 invited clubs formed the new Step 6 Kent Invicta Football League.

The League will link the Kent League (Step 5) and Kent County League (Step 7) with promotion and relegation between the competitions in line with F A Regulations.

Denise Richmond (pictured), the newly-elected chairman of the league, commented: "This is a major step forward for Kent football and has been the result of two years' co-operation between the Kent League and Kent County League, to bridge the gap between the two leagues for the benefit of both clubs and facilities in Kent."

Vice-chairman Cyril Windiate said: "This partnership has given ambitious clubs a greater opportunity to progress in the National League System.”

The league will be administered by John Moules with Matthew Panting - fixtures, Michael O’Keefe - referees, and Doug Francis - registration secretaries, along with Allan Crick new to Kent football as the results, grading and discipline officer.

The league Kicks–off on Saturday, August 20 when Ashford United returns to football after reforming the club and bring football back to Homelands along with a new name in senior football, Erith & Dartford Town - who will be groundsharing at VCD.

The draw was made of the First Round of the league's Challenge Trophy was also made with Ashford United drawn at home to Lydd Town.

Full first round draw: Rusthall v Cray Valley, Bearsted v Bridon Ropes, Hollands & Blair v Meridian, Erith & Dartford Town v Crockenhill, Phoenix Sports v Sutton Athletic, Ashford United v Lydd Town, Seven Acres Sports v Woodstock Park, Orpington v Bly Spartans.

Follow us

Like Us on Facebook

Most popular

Kent Travel News

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More