Home   Kent   News   Article

Queen honours people of Kent

Gary Rhodes has received an OBE
Gary Rhodes has received an OBE

A CELEBRITY chef, a scientist and a family doctor are among the county's recipients of awards in the Queen's birthday honours.

Gary Rhodes, who grew up in Gillingham and schooled at The Howard School in Rainham has been given an OBE for services to the hospitality industry.

He learned his trade at Thanet Technical College in Broadstairs, where he was the star pupil and won both Student and Chef of the Year.

During his career, Gary has been awarded several accolades, including The Good Food Television and Food personality of the Year, a Fellowship of the City and Guilds of London Institute and an Honorary Professorship from Thames Valley University.

He now lives in Bromley with his wife and two sons.

Dr John Grace, senior partner at the Highcliffe Medical Practice, which serves Higham and Cliffe, has received the MBE.

The Medoc co-operative, for which Dr Grace negotiated funding and played a major role in organising, became a model for out of hours services throughout the country.

During his 32 years at the Highcliffe practice, Dr Grace has been involved with a number of medical authorities, and is currently clinical director of unscheduled care - emergencies - for Medway Primary Care Trust.

"I have been unbelievably lucky at my practice, with good staff and good patients,” he said. “It’s a fantastic place to work in."

Dr Simon Campbell, the president of the Royal Society of Chemistry, comes from Deal and has been awarded a CBE for services to science.

Full county list:



Dr Simon Fraser Campbell. President, Royal Society of Chemistry. For services to Science. (Deal)
Peter Martin. For services to people who misuse substances. (Kent)
Stephen Walker. Chief executive, NHS Litigation Authority. For services to the NHS. (Sidcup)


Richard Edward Fedorcio. Director, Public Affairs, Metropolitan Police Service. For services to the Police. (Maidstone)
John Francis Fitzpatrick. Director, Kent Law Clinic. For services to the Adminstration of Justice. (Herne Bay)
Brian Harvey. Formerly Acting chief executive, Legal Services Commission. For services to the Administration of Justice. (Yalding)
Gary Rhodes. Chef. For services to the Hospitality Industry. (Bromley)


Mrs Jeanette Marion Appleton. For services to Blind and Partially Sighted People. (Beckenham)
John Bagley. For services to the community in Dover, Kent. (Dover)
Dudley Eric Barrow. Group Contact, 16th Sevenoaks Scout Group, Kent. For services to Young People. (Sevenoaks)
Fitzroy John Batchelor. For services to Black and Minority Ethnic People in the NHS. (Sidcup)
Mrs Patricia Ann Downing. Vice-Chair, Kent Ambulance Service NHS Trust. For services to the NHS. (Sevenoaks)
Miss Rita Anne Drake. Formerly Messenger, Department of Trade and Industry. (Erith)
Mrs Ruth Eagles. Education manager, HM Prison and Young Offenders' Institution, Cookham Wood, Rochester. For services to the community in Kent. (Maidstone)
Gerald Robin Arthur Ferrett. For services to the Royal British Legion. (Canterbury)
Dr John Francis Grace. General Medical Practitioner, Higham, Rochester. For services to Healthcare. (Nr Gravesend)
Geraint Jenkins. Head of Geography, de Stafford School, Caterham, Surrey. For services to Education. (Westerham)
Mrs Marie Jones. Formerly Mid-day Meals Supervisor, St. John's Roman Catholic Primary School, Gravesend, Kent. For services to Education. (Gravesend)
Mrs Ann Elizabeth Lewis. Audio Typist and Clerk, Ashford Employment Tribunal Office, Department for Constitutional Affairs. (Ashford)
Mrs Denise Hermina Lintern. For services to the community in Maidstone, Kent. (Maidstone)
Dr John Christopher Marsden. For services to Biology. (Tunbridge Wells)
Mrs Patricia Evylnne Marshall. For services to the community in Maidstone, Kent. (Maidstone)
Mrs Ann Needle. For services to the Soldiers', Sailors', and Airmen's Families Association. (Ashford)
Ms Toni Oxlee. Head of Curriculum - Skills for Life, Medway Adult Community and Learning Service, Kent. For services to Adult Learning. (Maidstone)
Martin Hugh Pym. For services to the community in Kent. (Ashford)
John Race. Formerly Coxswain, Royal National Lifeboat Institution. For services to the community in Teesmouth. (Nr Gravesend)
David Rains. For services to Gingerbread and to the community in Ashford, Kent. (Ashford)
Dev Rattan Sharma. Director, North West Kent Racial Equality Council. For services to the community in Kent. (Dartford)
David Nigel Geoffrey Small. Chair, The Hyde Group. For services to Social Housing in Kent. (Sevenoaks)
Magda Sweetland. President, Sevenoaks University of the Third Age. For services to Lifelong Learning. (Sevenoaks)
Miss Patricia Margaret Tiley. Volunteer Leader, Girl Guiding UK. For services to Young People. (Beckenham)
Mrs Maureen Wendy Utting. Manager, Crown Court Witness Service. For services to the Administration of Justice in Kent. (Chatham)
Mrs Suzanne Wade. Personal assistant, School Standards Group, Department for Education and Skills. (Greenhithe)



Philip Richard Hernaman Allen. Formerly director, Corporate Services, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs. (Orpington)
Joseph Montgomery. Director-General, Tackling Disadvantage Group, Department for Communities and Local Government. (Orpington)
Christopher Peter Jayantha Muttukumaru. Legal Adviser and Legal Services director, Department for Transport. (Bromley)



Miss Anne Frost. Lady in Waiting to Princess Michael of Kent.


Mrs Antigoni Christodoulou. Clerk Comptroller, The Duke and Duchess of Kent's Household.

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More