Home   Kent   News   Article

Three former champions knocked out of Sunshine Challenge

Sunshine Challenge golf logo
Sunshine Challenge golf logo

Three former champions have been knocked out of the second round of this year's KM Group Sunshine Challenge golf competition.

Barry Venner (h13, Broome Park), who won the competition in 2002, lost to 13-handicapper Richard Hutcheson from Tenterden, while 2004 champion Gary Tottman (h6, Canterbury) lost on the third extra hole against Ivor Graham (h13, Bearsted).

Gary's father David (h7, Canterbury) lost 2&1 at home to Andrew Barnard (h10, Beckenham Place Park).

However, three other former champions - Andy Smith (h5, Rochester & Cobham), Gregg Harrison (h13, Gillingham) and Steve Lovell (h5, Sittingbourne) - all booked their place in the last 16.

The winner will represent the KM Group in an all-expenses paid holiday to Portugal between November 1-8 when he will battle against a dozen other regional newspapers' winners over three rounds of Stableford competition.

Second round results: Ben Kent (h2, Birchwood Park) beat Mark Spratt (h5, Princes) 3&1, Shaun Skirrow (h22, Tudor Park) beat Trevor Sandford (h14, Tudor Park) 4&3, Gregg Harrison (h13, Gillingham) beat Lloyd Foster ((h8, Whitstable & Seasalter) 2&1, Steve Lovell (h5, Sittingbourne) beat Steve Noble (h12, Upchurch River Valley) 3&2, Stephen Neal (h19, Gillingham) beat Terry Hancock (h17, Canterbury) 2&1, John Hutchins (h13, Sheerness) beat Ian Cusselle (h16, Canterbury) 2-up, Ivor Graham (h13, Bearsted) beat Gary Tottman (h6, Canterbury) third extra hole, Darren Ford (h20, Bexleyheath) beat Nick Brabyn (h14, Tudor Park) 4&2, Richard Hutcheson (h14, Tenterden) beat Barry Venner (h13, Broome Park), Andy Smith (h5, Rochester & Cobham) beat Alan Mount (h14, West Malling) 5&4, Andy Parker (h10, Rochester & Cobham) beat Matthew Dadson (h7, Rochester & Cobham) won 3&1, Sheldon Fagg (h17, Canterbury) beat Kevin Hood (h12, Wrotham Heath) 1-up, Peter Webber (h22, Bearsted) beat Sid Silk (h24, Whitstable & Seasalter) 2&1, Andrew Barnard (h10, Beckenham Place Park) beat David Tottman (h7, Canterbury) 2&1, Darren Sharkey (h18, Farleigh Court) beat Gordon Miller (h16, Canterbury) first extra hole.

Still to play: Sam Gibbons (h13, Royal St Georges) v Peter Ludlow (h13, Gillingham).

Third round draw: John Hutchins (h13, Sheerness) v Shaun Skirrow (h22, Tudor Park), Steve Lovell (h5, Sittingbourne) v Ben Kent (h2, Birchwood Park), Gregg Harrison (h13, Gillingham) v Ivor Graham (h13, Bearsted), Stephen Neal (h19, Gillingham) v Sam Gibbons (h13, Royal St Georges)/ Peter Ludlow (h13, Gillingham), Darren Ford (h20, Bexleyheath) v Richard Hutcheson (h14, Tenterden), Sheldon Fagg (h17, Canterbury) v Andy Smith (h5, Rochester & Cobham), Darren Sharkey (h18, Farleigh Court) v Andy Parker (h10, Rochester & Cobham), Andrew Barnard (h10, Beckenham Place Park) v Peter Webber (h22, Bearsted).

Close This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Learn More